Current News Coming Soon

Please note that this website is still Under Construction.


The Importance of Hajj

1. Hajj or Pilgrimage to Makkatul Mukarramah is the fifth pillar of Islam.
2. It is a duty of a Muslim, who can afford it, to visit the Holy Kaaba in Makkatul Mukarramah at least once in a lifetime.
3. Hajj became Fard on the Muslims in 9 A.H.
4. Hajj is actually a gathering for Muslims from all parts of the world to meet and strengthen the ties of Islamic Brotherhood.
5. By putting on the Ihraam, a Muslim is made to think about death and leaving this world with only a simple piece of cloth that he or she has to wear in the Qabar.
6. By making Hajj, a Muslim sacrifices his money and pleasure for the Sake of Almighty Allah.

Upon whom is Hajj Fard?

Hajj is Fard upon :
1. An adult Muslim male or female.
2. One who is free from all debts.
3. One who is fit in body and in mind.
4. One who has enough money to cover all costs of the journey and be able to support one's family while one is away.
5. One who is confident of travelling safely.
Note: Hajj is not Fard upon those women who do not have a "Mahram" to accompany them. By "Mahram" is meant those people to whom it is Haraam for the woman to marry.

The Faraa'id (Fard) of Hajj

1. The person must be in Ihraam.
2. One has to make Tawaaf around the Holy Kaaba after the Wuqoof at Arafaat and Muzdalifa.
3. One has to be present at Arafaat on the 9th of Zil-Hajj.

Waajibaats of Hajj

A person is required to:
1. Make Sa'ee between Saffa and Marwa after the Tawaaf.
2. Stay in Muzdalifa for one night in the open space.
3. Throw stones at the three Jamraats on the 10th, 11th, 12th of Zil-Hajj. There is great Thawaab if one also pelts (stones) the Jamraats on the 13th Zil-Hajj.
4. Shave or trim the hair after the Qurbaani.
5. Perform the Last Tawaaf (Tawaaf-e-Widaa), just before leaving Makkatul Mukarramah.

What are the Miqaats

Miqaats are those places beyond which it is not permissable to cross without putting on the Ihraam for all those who intend making the Hajj or Umrah.
There are 5 Miqaats:
1. Zul Hulaifa or Bir-e-Ali : For those coming from the side of Madinatul Munawwarah.
2. Zaatul Iraq : For those coming from Iraq.
3. Jahfa or Rabigh : For those coming from Syria.
4. Qauran : For those coming from Najd.
5. Yalam lam : For those coming from India, Pakistan and Yemen (also South Africa).

The Five days of Hajj

1ST DAY - 8th Zil-Hajj : The people go to Mina from Makkatul Mukarramah in the morning after wearing the Ihraam.
2ND DAY - 9th Zil-Hajj : The people arrive in Arafaat in the morning and continue their Ibaadah. They also read their Zohar and Asar Salaah and leave for Muzdalifa just before sunset.
3RD DAY - 10th Zil-Hajj : People stay in Muzdalifa for the night and read their Maghrib and Isha Salaah together. They continue their Ibaadah the whole night. Just after Fajar Salaah, they leave for Mina. They then make Qurbaani and stone the Jamratul Uqbah. After Qurbaani, they trim or shave their hair and remove their Ihraam for ordinary clothes. Tawaaf-e-Ziyaarah is then made and Sa'ee between Saffa and Marwa. They now return to Mina.
4TH DAY - 11th Zil-Hajj : The three Jamraats are stoned.
5TH DAY - 12th Zil-Hajj : The three Jamraats are stoned again. Before leaving Makkatul Mukarramah, the Haaji will have to make the Farewell Tawaaf (Tawaaf-e-Widaa).

NOTE : Muslims are also required to visit the Blessed Grave of Sayyiduna Rasulullah (sallal laahu alaihi wasallam) in Madinatul Munawwarah as well as other sacred places. This can be done before or after the Hajj. Sayyiduna Rasulullah (sallal laahu alaihi wasallam) has said: "One who visits my grave, is like one who has visited me in my lifetime." "One who visits my grave, my Shafa'at becomes Waajib for him."


1. The Talbia is read by the person throughout the Hajj while in the state of Ihraam. The Talbia is: "Here I am, O Lord, here I am. Here I am, you have no partner, here I am. Surely, Praise, Blessings and the Kingdom are for You. You have no partner."
2. The Talbia stops immediately after pelting the Jamratul Uqbah (Big Shaytaan) on the 10th of Zil-Hajj.

What is Umrah

1. Umrah, unlike Hajj, can be made anytime during the year, except during the 8th till the 12th of Zil-Hajj.
2. A persons presence in Arafaat is not Fard during the Umrah.
3. No Qurbaani is required in Umrah.
4. In Umrah, Sa'ee between Saffa and Marwa and the Tawaaf of the Holy Kaaba is Fard.

Actions not Permitted during Hajj

1. To kill or harm animals (including insects).
2. To use perfumes.
3. To break or uproot plants.
4. To hunt.
5. To marry or take part in a wedding.
6. To do anything dishonest or be arrogant.
7. To carry arms.
8. To cover the head (males).
9. To cover the face (females).
10. To wear sewn clothes.
11. To wear shoes covering the ankles.
12. To cut hair or clip nails.


1. "Ayyaam-e-Tashreeq" or "The Days of Praise" are those 5 days from the 9th till the 13th of Zil-Hajj.
2. Ayyaam-e-Tashreeq begins from the Fajar Salaah of the 9th and ends at the Asar Salaah of the 13th of Zil-Hajj.
3. On these days, it is Waajib upon all Muslims to read the Takbeer-e-Tashreeq aloud once after every Fard Salaah. Females are required to read softly.
4. It is Sunnah to read this Takbeer 3 times.
5. The words of the Takbeer are: "Allah is Great. Allah is Great. There is none worthy of worship except Allah and Allah is Great. Allah is Great and to Allah belongs all Praise."